Standard  official of the  race

Origin
The oldest of the three varieties of poodles, the large poodle is the variety from which the medium poodle and the miniature poodle were developed. Known in Russia and Germany since the early 16th century, the breed is related to the Portuguese Water Dog and the Irish Water Spaniel. Although it was first a waterfowl-hunting, versatile retriever, the poodle was used in France for cavage, which consists of looking for truffles, a rare and much appreciated fungus in gastronomy. With his zest for life and the ease with which he can be trained, he became a popular circus dog and it is said that towards the end of the 18th century, all circuses presented a number with poodles.
 
Temperament
Extremely versatile, intelligent and eager to please, the poodle is an excellent companion.
 
Activity level
The large poodle has a proud and dignified gait and reflects the joy of living. Many fanciers have gone back to his roots and use him as a retriever, participating in hunting events. This breed needs a lot of exercise and is better off living in a house than in a high rise.
 
Size weight
The Large Poodle should be over 15 in. (38 cm) at the withers; however, most of these Poodles average 22 to 26 in (56 to 66 cm).
 
Dress
Hair that does not shed is dense, hard, curly or frizzy.
 
Color
Coat of uniform color, all colors being admitted.
 
Grooming
One of the breeds that requires a lot of grooming, it takes someone skilled in the art of clippers and scissors to sport one of the accepted clippings. It is also necessary to brush and comb the poodle regularly (3 times a week).
 
To consult the detailed official standard

Standard officiel de la race

Origine
Le plus ancien des trois variétés de caniches, le grand caniche est la variété à partir de laquelle le caniche moyen et le caniche nain ont été développés. Connu en Russie et en Allemagne depuis le début du 16e siècle, la race est apparentée au chien d’eau portugais et à l’épagneul d’eau irlandais. Bien qu’il fut d’abord un retriever allant à l’eau pour la chasse à la sauvagine, polyvalent, le caniche a été utilisé en France pour le cavage qui consiste à chercher des truffes, un champignon rare et très apprécié en gastronomie. Avec sa joie de vivre et la facilité avec laquelle on peut l’entraîner, il est devenu un chien de cirque populaire et on dit que vers la fin du 18e siècle, tous les cirques présentaient un numéro avec des caniches.
 
Tempérament
Extrêmement polyvalent, intelligent et voulant plaire, le caniche est un excellent compagnon.
 
Niveau d’activité
Le grand caniche a une démarche fière et digne et reflète la joie de vivre. Plusieurs amateurs sont retournés à ses racines et l’utilisent comme retriever, en participant à des épreuves de chasse. Cette race a besoin de beaucoup d’exercice et il est préférable qu’il vive dans une maison plutôt que dans un gratte-ciel.
 
Taille/poids
Le grand caniche doit mesurer plus de 15 po (38 cm) au garrot; toutefois, la plupart de ces caniches mesurent 22 à 26 po (56 à 66 cm) en moyenne.
 
Robe
Le poil qui ne mue pas est dense, dur, bouclé ou crépu.
 
Couleur
Robe de couleur uniforme, toutes les couleurs étant admises.
 
Toilettage
Une des races qui exigent beaucoup de toilettage, il faut une personne experte dans l’art de manier la tondeuse et les ciseaux pour qu’il arbore une des tontes acceptées. Il faut aussi brosser et peigner le caniche régulièrement.
 
Pour consulter le standard officiel détaillé
Situé en Mauricie

© 2016 par Anne-Marie Hénault Mise à jour le 19 août 2018 - Tous droits réservés

(819) 841-2154

  • Google Adresses Icône sociale

Situé en Mauricie

  • White Facebook Icon

Suivez-nous sur Facebook!